Software as Service Project with Meteor

Hello Meteor Community,

I am a novice Meteor developer and quite interested in using Meteor for future projects. I currently run a startup company in Kurdistan Region, Iraq, called Meta Solutions: http://metacompany.net

My company is working on a software as service project. The software will contain lots of data and data will increase more and more as time passes since we are planning to maintain the app, as any other SaaS. I am a Ruby on Rails developer and worked closely with client-side javascript before. For this project, My team and I decided to use NodeJS since our initial research asserted that performance is much more optimized with NodeJS.
Then, I did a lot of research on what to use in NodeJS, the typical MEAN stack or something else. I incidentally stumbled upon Meteor which simply solved all the problems for us. The application we will build is mainly real-time and needs offline DB synchronization. So Meteor is an excellent choice for us.

But we are dubious. The problem is that we are afraid to use Meteor since:

1. We are not sure if the code base of the application will be maintained and developed by MDG or unfortunately they will stop at some point. In other words, we are not sure if the project is already attracting many developers and hence succeeding.
  2. Some of the packages are outdated and are not updated regularly. We are afraid that this pattern extends for the rest of the packages. I currently realized that FlowRouter is no longer supported since Kadira has stopped its activities.
  3. Meteor changes its core and structure from time to time. Meteor 1.3 has a totally different structure than 1.6. I have spent ours looking for tutorials on 1.6, and unfortunately the only good resource I found was Meteor’s own Documentation, which is excellent but needs lots of studying if you want to build a solid app.