[SOLVED] Best method to create time related functions

Hello guys,

I am a total newbie with Meteor, and I am loving it! I just need a hand in using the logic.
Currently, I’m working on a project that aims to reactivly change parts of the page based on what time it is.

The app, in short, is a bus-like timetable app that shows what state is the bus in at certain times. For example, at 7AM, the bus is on route, at 9AM, the bus is parked.

What I had in mind was create a collection for timetables, and one for buses, and link each timetable to its relevant bus.

a pseudocode might look something like this:
If SystemCurrentTime is 7AM,
look for 7AM in bus 1 timetable collection
Show Bus 1 State for that time
end if

I may be thinking in the wrong way here, which is why I need your assistance that I would eternally appreciate!
What is the best way to compare system times to collection variables, and how would be reactive? (shown on the screen real time).

Thank you so much!

Hey there and welcome to the wonderful world of Meteor!

I don’t want to speak to the viability of your solution because 1) I don’t understand your problem as well as you do and 2) I feel trial and error is the best way to learn how something works.

BUT, here’s some relevant info that should help you on your journey.

If you have a collection of documents that looks like this:

{
  bus: 'A',
  state: 'Parked',
  startTime: 700,
  endTime: 800
}
{
  state: 'On Route',
  startTime: 800,
  endTime: 930
}

and you want to find out what bus A is doing at a particular time of day (example, 7:45), you can find it with the query:

BusTimetables.findOne({
  startTime: {
    $lte: 745 // start time is less than or equal to 745
  },
  endTime: {
    $gt: 745 // end time is greater than 745
  }
});

Note: This is a very simple example that doesn’t accommodate timezone differences. It’s just meant to illustrate how to query based on a range. You can do the same thing with dates.