[SOLVED] Help With Apollo and Meteor Accounts

Hey everyone! First off, thanks to everyone on the Apollo team! The tools you guys have built and are working on are awesome! :grinning: I am very excited for the future!

That being said I am still new to Apollo and I was trying to figure out how to use the Meteor Roles and Accounts system inside a resolver function. Please see below for my resolver function showing what I was trying to accomplish.

import { Meteor } from 'meteor/meteor'

export const resolvers = {
  Query: {
    getUsers (root, args, context) {
      if (Roles.userIsInRole(context.userId, ['admin'])) {
        return Meteor.users.find().fetch()
      }
      throw new Meteor.Error(403, 'Not authorized')
    }
  }
}

The Apollo docs state HERE:

Inside your resolvers, if the user is logged in, their id will be context.userId and their user doc will be context.user:

This actually works fine in Graphiql and only returns an array of Users based on my query shape if the user has the role “admin” but for some reason the check fails when I try to connect the data to React and I get the error message returned instead of the users collection.

I had the same issue when trying the check laid out in the Apollo docs.

if (context.userId === args.id) {
        return context.user;
      }

Graphiql had no issues but it would not work from React.

If I take the boolean check away the data populates as expected so I am pretty sure the issue lies there. Any ideas? Thanks again!

So I have been playing with this issue and for some reason it seems that context.userId is undefined in my resolver in react but successfully returns the userId in Graphiql. It must be a load order issue but I am at a loss of how to fix this or keep it from happening in the future. Any help would be greatly appreciated!