[SOLVED] How to show a spinner while load dashboard?

Hello to the entire meteor community, this time I want to ask:
how can I show a spinner in meteor or a loading…?
I want to do it in the simplest way, since I am not a meteor expert
Annex some examples:

when log in , while dashboard template is ready, show loading… template.
when dashboard ready show dashboard

I read about Flowrouter.subsReady but I don’t know how to use, The official documentation does not give many details.
I have installed sasha:spin package, but I still don’t know how to display it properly while loading the template dashboard.
I’m using of original kadira flow router and blaze, Is there a way to do this with blaze?

Thanks in advance.!

1 Like

I would suggest trying dynamic imports with Blaze and using async/await. I have not done this in Blaze so I don’t have any code to share but only a suggestion.

This is exactly the problem I am facing right now. I will do some tests and return here.

How does your code determine if the dashboard is ready? Is it a subscription? Anyways, you can accomplish this with any reactive data source. If you upgrade from kadira:flowrouter to ostrio:flow-router-extra you can also use the whileWaiting hook for a route

<template name="dashboard_template">
 {{#if ready}}
  {{>dashboard}}
 {{else}}
  {{>spinner}}
 {{/if}}
</template>
Template.dashboard_template.onCreated(function(){
 const instance = this;
 instance.ready = new ReactiveVar(false);
 // instead of this you can also you Template.subscriptionsReady in the template
 instance.subscribe('dashboard', function(){
  instance.ready.set(true);
 });
});
Template.dashboard_template.helpers({
 ready(){
  return Template.instance().ready.get();
 }
});
1 Like

I use FlowRouter.subsReady over here - https://github.com/dmarkrollins/kwote/blob/83ebfa9872504b41c76422b2747a9cc85f7c057f/client/authors/authorEdit.js