[Solved] I seem to be duplicating code fairly often, is there an equivalent to ASP user controls?

So in a past life I did a bit of C# / ASP development, I’ve been using meteor for a couple months now (loving it of course) and I’m starting to find that I’m duplicating code faily often. I don’t really care if there is something exactly like how ASP handles user controls, but it was faily convenient to be able a to write chunk of code/asp, then easily include it any other page by referencing the control.

I’m really just looking to see if there there’s a better way to what I’m doing and user controls came to mind… For example I might have a few screens that needs to have the same chunk of customer of account information embeded somewhere that need to be reactive to the rest of the page. That chunk of customer info will be the exact same on 4 screens, as of the moment, I’m putting the same customer view logic on each page. Any thoughts?

1 Like

Using generic templates in my applications is how I keep code duplication low. I have a route where I can create a mongo document and I have a separate route where I can edit that document. I have two templates, “edit” and “create”, and then I have a third template that is “manipulate.” I keep all or the logic for both edit and create inside the manipulate template. I don’t know if that makes any sense or not.

Essentially treating templates as partials is the way that I keep client side code duplication low.

Thanks for the reply, it does make sense. Are your templates duplicated in each page that has those common functions, something were your basically copying the same template from page to page. I do similar with the cust/acct info, just a pain when I need to make changes, it has to be done in each page, with a certain project I’m working on I see that problem getting worse… Not that it can’t be dealt with, would be nice to change it in one place instead.