[Solved] Roles javascript not working

I’m using the alanning:roles package and login is working fine. However, I’m getting an unexpected behaviour, and I’m at a loss to fix it. Any ideas are welcome.

When I use

{{if isInRole 'admin' 'default_group'}}
  Yeah, I'm an admin
{{else}}
  Just a non-user
{{/if}}
Output: Yeah, I'm an admin

When I use

console.log( Roles.userIsInRole(Meteor.userId, ['admin'], 'default_group') )
Output: false

My users are setup like this in /server/bootstrap.js

Meteor.startup(function () {
 var default_users = [
     {name: "Sid Administrator", email: "admin@some.com", password: "1234", roles: ['admin']},
     {name: "Jonny FieldUser", email: "field@some.com", password: "1234", roles: ['field']},
     {name: "Suzie Manager", email: "manager@some.com", password: "1234", roles: ['manager']}
 ];
 if (Meteor.users.find().count() === 0) {
   _.each(default_users, function(user) {
     var id;
     id = Accounts.createUser({
       email: user.email,
       password: user.password,
       profile: {
          fullname: user.name
       }
     });
     if(user.roles.length > 0) {
      Roles.addUsersToRoles(id, user.roles, 'default_group');
     }
   });
 }
});

Don’t know if that solves your particular problem, but you need to add the Roles.addUsersToRoles(id, user.roles, 'default_group'); call inside the loop where user actually exists?

You have it outside the _.each block, which means it gets called only once with neither id nor user defined.

Sorry, that’s my typo. I’ve updated the initial post.

Meteor.userId is a function. Change your code to console.log( Roles.userIsInRole(Meteor.userId(), ['admin'], 'default_group') )

I thought that too, but when I use Meteor.userID(), I get the error

Exception from sub site_pages id 8z4... Error: meteor.userID can only be invoked in method calls. Use this.userId in publish functions

I just tried this.userId (as stated in the error) and it seems to have worked. Yeah.