[SOLVED] switching/hiding/showing templates on click

Hello everyone, im new to coding and I have some really basic JS and jQ knowledge. im trying to make a login register page and I want to hide the login fields once a user clicked on the register button, also on buttons click I want the Register template to be shown.

ATM both templates are shown one below the other

I know I probably can use CSS to do the trick but I want a better solution to do the job.

https://jsfiddle.net/n3fs3zgj/

There are a lot of different ways you can tackle this. I’ve typed up a really quick example below. One thing to mention first: have you taken a look at https://useraccounts.meteor.com? Using something like UserAccounts can really save you a lot of coding time.

On with the example - note I’m using Session just to show one quick representation of how it can be done. You should probably look into using something like ReactiveVar’s instead (see the Client-side data with reactive stores section of the Guide for more info).

sample.html:

<body>
  <h1>Login/Register Example</h1>
  {{#if showRegister}}
    {{> register}}
  {{else}}
    {{> login}}
  {{/if}}
</body>

<template name="login">
  <p>... login form goes here ...</p>
  <div>
    <a href="#" class="js-show-register">Register</a>
    <button>Login</button>
  </div>
</template>

<template name="register">
  <p>... registration form goes here ...</p>
  <div>
    <a href="#" class="js-show-login">Login</a>
    <button>Register</button>
  </div>
</template>

sample.js:

if (Meteor.isClient) {

Template.body.helpers({
    showRegister() {
      return Session.get('showRegister');
    }
  });

Template.login.events({
    'click button'() {
      alert('Do login stuff!');
    },
    'click .js-show-register'(event) {
      event.preventDefault();
      Session.set('showRegister', true);
    }
  });

Template.register.events({
    'click button'() {
      alert('Do registration stuff!');
    },
    'click .js-show-login'(event) {