Store 3rd party password save for repeated access by back-end only

Continuing the discussion from How do you store sensitive data in mongodb:

Let me ask my case which is very similar to the one the OP explains here.

I have a third party website which has no API, my app will be storing the credentials (email and password) to allow the back-end repeatedly to login, call a specific page of the third party app and then analyze the resulting content (basically decoding the html answer) for changes (so that the user isn’t missing any important updates and doesn’t have to manually check every time period he wants).

I know you wrote that there is no case the credentials should be stored but this is the used case for my app.

So how can I store this password in the safest way? I have never worked with any password obfuscation before. Are there any packages on Meteor that can help me achieve this?

Thanks to the OP for bringing this topic up, makes me feel better that I’m not the only asking this

So before I start talking about solutions, I’ll clarify what I meant be there is no secure way to store credentials. Firstly the reason that a token based system is preferred over credentials when providing access to an API is firstly, you don’t need to have a login flow every time, once the API user has to token that is it. Secondly you are able to put limits on tokens, so you can say, a token may access the read API but not the delete endpoint etc. So if the token is ever stolen the damage is minimized.

So now to actually trying to solve your problem. So knowing that there is no way to do this perfectly we have to focus on “what ifs”. What if someone gains access to my application server, how much information can they get? Do that have access to the whole database? Can they modify the database?. What if they download the database, what damage can they do with the stolen data, can they impersonate a person with their credentials. There are all concerns you need to think about.