Strange behavior with a long delay before container recognizes reactive data change

I’m not quite sure how to even describe this, but I’ve built a lazy load mechanism that makes a request when the user is approaching the bottom of the page. It goes like this:

1. React component detects scroll reaching end of page.
  2. Call made to this.props.requestMore().
  3. This goes into my Paginator class, which is keeping track of our current subscription limit, if we already have a request being processed (to avoid hundreds of calls made from scroll events). See requestMore code below.
  4. The new limit is set (ReactiveVar).
  5. In the TrackManagerContainer, I have a subscribe call that uses limit.get().
  6. Publish function returns a new set of data.
  7. All is right in the world.

And this works fine on the first page load. But if I navigate away and then come back to that page, randomly something weird happens in between steps 4 and 5 above. limit is set to a new value, but it takes about 2-3 seconds before I see my console.info statement tell me that it’s about to call Meteor.subscribe. I can’t figure out why on earth there would be such a massive delay between those two things.

requestMore

requestMore = (pagerName) => {
      const pager = this.data[pagerName];

if (pager.requested || pager.limit.get() === -1) return;

console.info('Paginator: increasing limit to',
        pager.limit.get() + pager.increment);
      pager.requested = true;
      pager.limit.set(pager.limit.get() + pager.increment);
    };

And in my Meteor container:

const TrackManagerContainer = connect()(createContainer((props) => {
  const { limit, reportCount, requestMore } = props.trackPager;
  console.info('TrackManagerContainer: subscribe to tracks, limit', limit.get());
  const handle = Meteor.subscribe('tracks', limit.get());
  const tracks = Track.find({ snippet: false },
    { sort: { createdAt: -1 } }).fetch();
  [...]