Strange log on my EC2 machine. Hack attempt?

I have to admit that I am quite new to DevOps (and I was very happy that mupx made it so easy for me to get my app running on an EC2 instance!). Today I had a look at the server logs and was a bit puzzled when I saw entries like these:

Error: url must be a relative URL: http://dhg.pisz.pl/httptest.php
     at [object Object]._.extend.classify (packages/routepolicy/routepolicy.js:107:1)
     at IsAppUrl (packages/meteorhacks_fast-render/lib/server/utils.js:19:1)
     at [object Object].filterFunction (packages/meteorhacks_fast-render/lib/server/routes.js:6:1)
     at [object Object].PickerImp._dispatch (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:44:1)
     at processNextSubRouter (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:80:1)
     at processNextRoute (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:73:1)
     at processNextMiddleware (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:56:1)
     at [object Object].PickerImp._dispatch (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:50:1)
     at Object.Package [as handle] (packages/meteorhacks_picker/packages/meteorhacks_picker.js:140:1)
     at next (/bundle/bundle/programs/server/npm/webapp/node_modules/connect/lib/proto.js:190:15)

The URLs vary, but they are all coming from strange domains (mostly from Poland). Does anyone with more experience than me have an explanation what might be happening here. For my noob eyes, it looks like a hacker / injection attempt.

BTW: Is there any guide / tutorial out there on how to “harden” a mupx/Ubuntu based Meteor set-up?

Definitely a hack attempt, but too bad they don’t realize you’re running a Node.js server. :wink:

You could edit your nginx config to block requests like these. I guess if it were me in your position, I’d make it so any requests that end in “.php” would be redirected to a website full of popup ads. :smiling_imp:

1 Like