Subscription with $or does not return all the documents it should

I have a subscription like so: Posts.find( { $or: [ {_id: postID}, {target: postID}, {replies: postID} ] }). It does not return all the posts it should. Most notably, it does not always return the post with {_id: postID}. There are no errors on either server or client, and everything I read says this should work? The only thing I can think of is the fact that replies is an array. But as far as I can tell, that’s supposed to work too. :confused:

Edit: I tried removing the {replies: postID} clause to see if that changed anything. It didn’t. So I’m guessing it’s not that. I see in the MongoDB page for $or it says something about indexes? So maybe I don’t have those set up properly? :confused:

Are all your id’s (_id, target, replies) all of the same type (string or MongoID)? If you are mixing types, that may explain your issue. For example, it’s common for non-Meteor applications to create documents with _ids that are of type MongoID, whereas Meteor normally uses strings.

You should definitely set up your indexes properly, although missing indexes will affect performance, not functionality.

target and replies.$ are {
type: String,
regEx: SimpleSchema.RegEx.Id
}, while _id uses the default system.

As for setting up indexes, how do I go about that? I didn’t even know that was a thing. Do I use rawCollection or rawDatabase, and work with that object? Is there a tutorial or documentation on this anywhere? I’m not seeing it, but then maybe I’m just not paying attention. Should I refer to the MongoDB documentation? :confused:

As in Meteor’s default system? Do you insert any documents outside of Meteor?

Setting up indexes will not fix the issue you’ve reported - it will just improve the performance of the query, especially for large collections.