Teaching Meteor

I am a web developer based in Lusaka, Zambia, I work at a company called Hackers Guild.

We teach software development skills and this year we have opted to start teaching meteor and react, this is replacing Django, we have been using meteor in several projects that we worked on and because of how easy we find it to work with meteor we decided to start teaching it.

Does anyone in the community know a good resource of teaching meteor, like a well arranged syllabus in case there is some that have already taught it, or the best things to start with when teaching.

Thank you !!

3 Likes

I recommend online courses from Udemy.com, especially this one which also includes React. I believe Meteor’s official tutorials and documents are the best sources for learning Meteor. You should start with the official tutorials page.
(Thank you @mdgsoftware for the great documentation)

1 Like

Try LevelUp Tuts on youtube . He has a personal site where he sells full ‘advanced courses too’ . He is really big on meteor.

3 Likes

Thanks for that, I agree with you. Meteor’s documentation is the best

I’ve been teaching Meteor as part of my software engineering course for the last few years. The course combines basic software engineering concepts (quality assurance, coding standards, configuration management, testing, project management, etc.) with a specific tech stack (Javascript, IntelliJ IDEA, GitHub, Semantic UI, Meteor). Previously, I taught the class using Blaze, but this semester, I am switching to React. This semester’s web site is here:

http://courses.ics.hawaii.edu/ics314s18/

Over the next several weeks, I will be releasing new versions of the Meteor modules based on React (if you are curious about the Blaze versions, they are available at last semester’s site: http://courses.ics.hawaii.edu/ics314f17/)

Feel free to use any of these materials if they seem useful for your situation.

8 Likes

Thank you Philip,