Thanks you Meteor community!

Hi Everyone.

I’ve been using Meteor since 1.3 rolled out. I haven’t been active on this forum at all but wanted to at least thank this community.

A few years ago, I started working at a new company with no clue how to code. One of the first few days working there, my employer started to work on 'n a new product with an international client. We struggled with the developers our company hired to create this platform. At the time I was a graphic designer coming from a textile background and was hired as such. I was only comfortable with WordPress websites and only barely knew my way around HTML/CSS. On a random Wednesday after work, I did some research in some spare time trying to see how we can improve the project, and stumbled upon the documentation of Meteor.

Having completed multiple online courses regarding React, SQL, Python, and other languages, the theory of having to code something never ‘clicked’ in my head. I continued to read the Meteor documentation and, within initializing the first project, I was amazed how simple it was to create something where one can have a database with user authentication and more. Something just clicked!

The very next day I went back to work and presented my employer with a few things I cooked up the previous night. He stood still after the presentation and without saying anything to me, immediately took out his phone and fired the developers working on the new project. We were a few months into development and now had nothing to show. He then threw all his faith into the little knowledge I had and told me to continue with the project myself.

I then went on to read as much as I could about Meteor, JavaScript, and the Node ecosystem and ground it out. Two months later I was standing in front of a multi-franchise corporation presenting their liquor ordering platform, created with Meteor and a dash of spaghetti code. I was hooked…