The Sad State of Web Development

Awesome article on the state of web development and how it’s going down the proverbial toilet, in part thanks to NPM.

https://medium.com/@wob/the-sad-state-of-web-development-1603a861d29f#.g4cbwvkkl

It’s nice to see that I’m not alone. I used to think that it was just because I’m relatively new to NPM in general.

At least Meteor is taking gigantic steps in improving this freakshow. :thumbsup:

What do you guys think? Do you agree with the article or is the author (and myself) just too new to NPM?

9 Likes

Maybe 1 or 2 pages on your app will have really complex UI, but the other 95% of the app does not. So you pay a huge penalty doing a SPA. You’re typically writing all the basic CRUD stuff in a SPA from scratch. The backend framework you’re using can’t help you in any way.

The author hasn’t tried Meteor … :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Absolutely. Meteor takes care of that for you in a great way.

@sashko preach!

1 Like

Coming from .net the wild-wild-west of the JavaScript ecosystem is just mind-boggling, I have little to no idea how anybody actually manages to make a decision on anything, let alone actually maintain a system over say five years.

I cannot tell you how much I would give to just be able to use c# and the .net framework in the browser. One well documented, well thought out, consistent, backwards compatible, structured framework that I could use on both client and server would be so much more productive for me.

The attraction of Meteor is that if I can’t have that, then at least Meteor gives us most of that, albeit at the cost of having to give up using a strongly typed language.