This._id returning undefined

Hi,

I’m new to meteor and trying to understand this._id. I have a Weights collection that I’d like to update, but the this._id is returning undefined.

html:
<template name="weight"> <h4>Your weight is:</h4> <h4 id="textArea" class="editable" data-type="textarea" data-placeholder="Enter Weight" data-emptytext="Click to enter weight" data-rows="4">{{weight}}</h4><br/> </template>

js:
Template.weight.rendered = function() { $('#textArea.editable').editable({ success: function(response, newValue) { console.log(this._id); Weights.update(Session.get("newWeight"), {$set: {weight: newValue}}); } }); }

Why does this._id return undefined? Thanks!

In rendered function this refers to the template itself. Try this.data._id. Also just debug and you will see yourself.

is this.data._id only for Iron Router? I tried it for a similar problem and it still returned undefined for me (app is using Flow Router).

Just debug, set a breakpoint in your rendered function, and check what you get. Try with different data contexts (#with, #each or simply pass data when including your template {{>yourtemplate yourData}}. It shouldn’t be related to a router as far as i know.

I didn’t ever get any form of this.data._id to work.

After a lot of tinkering, this works - my question was similar and may not be quite what you’re looking for, but I hope it helps.

var getField = myCollection.findOne({});
console.log(getField.myFieldName);

EDIT:
This only loaded the correct field once (I’ve now tried so many things, I forgot where I put it, but I think it was in the template’s js onRendered statement). Subsequent access of the template for different _id’s still persisted the field from the originally loaded _id. Since this worked only on the first load of the template, it’s not a good solution.

Hey Deborah,