Today meteor speed

Hello,

i am still new to webdev. I saw some forum/github topics about bad speed of meteor with blaze.
I want to ask how is it know. If meteor with blaze can be used for eshop for example. Or should i use handlebars or something else? Or maybe if someone have any speed comparison with laravel.

And if is hard to deploy metor on VPS?

Thanks in advance for anwers :slight_smile:

Meteor

Meteor is great for web apps, not for websites; since all the JS is sent to the client at once and there is no (official) server-side rendering, it is not optimized to have a fast first-page load; however, its in-built reactivity (data transiting between server and client) is very, very fast and suitable even for very advanced real-time apps. In the end, your code structure is at least as relevant to the overall speed of your app than the framework you are using.

Blaze

There is a very nice performance comparison between front-end frameworks here:

Just anticipating: Blaze’s performance is in the same league as React & Angular for normal applications.

If you have any other questions about Meteor, feel free to contact me. I’ve been where you are not so long ago :slight_smile:

1 Like

On the other hand, SSR is totally possible, and we have perfect code splitting to reduce the size of that initial bundle. Meteor may not load the fastest by default, but it certainly can!

2 Likes

Ou thank guys i think i understand it more know :slight_smile:

What do you mean? https://docs.meteor.com/packages/server-render.html

1 Like

Oh you’re right! My bad… guess I had never seen this package before.

Sir, please allow me to say that an SPA’s fast first-page load is fully dependent on the developer and less on the technology.

I think it is needless to say that if this is mobile … desktop hits the 100%.

The concern is not how fast the first page comes up, there are so many tricks to tune that.
When you think Meteor speed you would normally ask these questions: