Trying to get data out of a collection help!

So, i’m fairly new to meteor and this is my first backend work so I’m not massively familiar with all the methods of working with databases. But my issue is, I’m building a logging system where you log data each day and there are six fields of logged data. Im trying to build a pie chart with chart js which is working but i can’t get the correct data out of my database to make the pie chart.

So I have a collection called dailyLog, this is in my ‘both’ directory,

dailyLog = new Mongo.Collection('dailyLog');

then i publish this from the server

Meteor.publish("dailyLog", function () {
return dailyLog.find();
});

Then in my pieChart js file i have this code (client side)

Meteor.subscribe("dailyLog");

function drawPieChart(){

var findData = function(){
	return dailyLog.find({createdBy: Meteor.user().username}, {fields: {adherence: 1}}).fetch()[0].adherence;
};

var data = [
	{
		value: findData(),
		color: "#CBDDE7"
	}...

So the key bit of information is the find() method. So in each of these dailyLog i have the createdAt date and createdBy, and then each of the 6 variables and the one you see here is adherence which is one of the key value pairs and basically i am literally trying to take its key value pair from the database to use as data in the pie chart!

Now, my issue is if i type that into the console i get the value (which i 90) but in the code it always comes out as undefined. Not only this but this happens:

[Log] TypeError: undefined is not an object (evaluating 'dailyLog.find({createdBy: Meteor.user()}, {fields: {adherence: 1}}).fetch()[0].adherence') (meteor.js, line 888)

Thats the result when i console.log the dailyLog.find() method you see above.

I dont understand why it works when i put it in the console but the result is undefined in the code!

Thanks so much for your help in advanced and if you need any more information i will sat he ready to answer so let me know!