Trying to subscribe in onCreated, create ReactiveDict

I’m a little confused. Trying to understand better the differences between ReactiveDict, Var, and Session, I’m trying to assign a Collection to a ReactiveDict, but I can’t seem to do so. I’m new to this.

What am I doing wrong here?

Template.body.onCreated(function(){
    Meteor.subscribe('itemFind');
    this.global = new ReactiveDict();
    this.global.set('items',Items.find());
});

Template.body.helpers({
  items(){
  console.log(Template.instance().global.get('items'));
  return Template.instance().global.get('items');
}
});

?

I’ve gone through a bunch of steps here with no luck.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/40597947/meteor-reactivedict-mongodb-find-oncreate/40599128

Hi

Try this:

return Template.instance().global.get(‘items’).fetch()

No, that doesn’t work.

// Subscribe to the item
  Meteor.subscribe('allItems');
  //setup the dictionary
  // set the dictionary for items
  this.global.set('items',Items.find().fetch());
});

It returns an empty array.

It returns an empty array.

So maybe you have no items available on the client side. Check your subscriptions.

The collection comes back in a helper, it just doesn’t come back in the onCreated, or the onRendered for that matter. The subscription is correct, it just seems that the helpers are running before the onCreated or the onRendered (if I had to guess).

Not exactly sure why you’d set the collection as a property of a ReactiveDict, but if you wanted to, the following should work. Also, it’s not really best practice to assign properties to the body template.

this.autorun(function() {
    let itemSub = this.subscribe('itemFind');
    if (itemSub.ready() {
      this.global.set('items', Items.find());
    }
  });
});

Template.body.helpers({
  items() {
    console.log(Template.instance().global.get('items'));
    return Template.instance().global.get('items');
  }
});