[Typescript]: Using meteor with react and typescript

I have seen that there are possibilities to use meteor with typescript, there is also the possibility to use react with typescript.

But I haven’t found any solution if I wanted to use typescript with React and Meteor together. Has anyone successfully managed to make all of them work together?

5 Likes

I am new to React and Typescript. I managed to get the React for Meteor tutorial working with Typescript up to the point of getting the app to run and show the three hard-coded tasks in the browser: https://www.meteor.com/tutorials/react/components .

Unfortunately Meteor forums limits me to two links per post, so I cannot provide complete references.

Preliminaries:

I installed the following from Atmosphere to get the Meteor + Typescript part. The type definitions file I referenced in my .tsx file is all-definitions.d.ts, but this file was installed in a completely different location than given in the documentation. I found it somewhere under ~/.meteor/... .

• meteortypescript:compiler
  • meteortypescript:typescript-libs

For the React + Typescript part, I followed the instructions at http://staxmanade.com/2015/08/playing-with-typescript-and-jsx/ to install TSD and the react type definitions. I also installed react-global type definitions to get React defined, rather than using import React = __React.

In summary, my .tsx file had three references:

• all-definitions.d.ts
  • react.d.ts
  • react-global.d.ts

I wasn’t able to get the React for Meteor example to compile using React.createClass. Using the transformation shown in the staxmanade.com post , I was able to change this to

class MyApp extends React.Component<MyAppProps, {}> { ... }