Understanding Meteor as an more old-school developer

Hey everybody!

I’ve recently tried to pick up Meteor, but just as with many of the similar technologies I’m having trouble understanding the concept behind it.

First a bit of background info: I’m a developer, but not a web developer. However, I learnt the basics of the LAMP stack a few years ago, and found it to be very intuitive and, well, logical. I’ve since had a few smaller web development projects (Using LAMP), but nothing too big.

Now, one of the most often cited reasons I read for switching from LAMP to something like MEAN, Meteor, … is easier and faster prototyping; And I’d have to agree, coding something from scratch in LAMP (Or even when using a framework such as CodeIgniter or CakePHP) takes an absolute eternity.

However, there are some basics behind this, I guess old-school way of thinking, that I like - Namely, the structure behind everything.
You have a client requesting something from the server through a well-designed (or not) API, some logic runs on the server, updates the state of the database (or not), sends back a result, which could either be plain data or fully fleshed out HTML. Boom, simple.

Recently I have tried to start understanding all this new, more trendy stuff - Node, Mongo, React, Angular, etc etc.
I do get a very small part of it - For example, I enjoyed using Angular/React on the frontend to do all the templating etc, and then just request data from the server and replace it somewhere in the app.