Understanding publish with argument

I am having trouble understanding the use case of publish with argument.

This is what i have currently in publication

Meteor.publish('stocks', () => {
  return Stocks.find();
});

and in the client side

export default createContainer((props) => {
  let subscribe = Meteor.subscribe('stocks');
  let stocks = [];
  if (subscribe.ready()) {
    console.log("subscribe,", subscribe)
    stocks = Stocks.find(
      {
        $and: [{ History: { $exists: 1 } }, { 'History.status': { $nin: ['PROCESSED', 'COMPLETED'] } }, { $where: 'this.History.length > 0' }]
      },
      { sort: { 'History.startDate': -1 } }
    ).fetch();
  }
  return {
    stocks
  }
}, RentalPage);

I am having a issue trying to render this page ( i am new to meteor but have completed projects in react without meteor).
There are around 2000 TOTAL stocks docs in the backend, and the query seems to take around 3-4 seconds (which i think is a lot) to Retrieve only 13 documents.

Now my question is if i use the following

Meteor.publish('stocks', (params,ctx) => {
  return Stocks.find(params,ctx);
});

and in the client code:

let subscribe = Meteor.subscribe('stocks', {
        $and: [{ History: { $exists: 1 } }, { 'History.status': { $nin: ['PROCESSED', 'COMPLETED'] } }, { $where: 'this.History.length > 0' }]
      },
      { sort: { 'History.startDate': -1 } });
//some codes here 
stocks = stock.find().fetch()

Can the server do the calculation and send me the final docs (13) and i can just use it ? or this is not a correct way to do ? i am just confused using parameters during subscription.

Any suggestions are highly appreciated :smiley: :cheese:

Let’s see, there is two issues here. One is data send from the server to the client and the second is the processing load .