Upgrade old project for Mongo 4

Short story is that I am a Windows developer with no real web development experience and I’ve been handed an off-shored project created in Meteor 1.5.1 and told it needs to be updated to Mongo 4.0 by the end of the month since support for the older versions of Mongo is meant to be canned soon. Obviously this is a big learning curve.

Has anyone done this? I think I’ve been able to upgrade the project to 1.6 - any further than that and I get various build errors.

Any tips on getting an older version of Meteor up to 1.8, or is there any easier way to upgrade just the Mongo to 4.0? And what is involved with that?

99% of the application will probably work with a mongo 4 cluster with no code changes and without updating meteor at all. I’ve got several apps that work just fine connected to mongo 4 even though their meteor versions don’t technically work with mongo 4. Mongo is very backwards compatible as is meteor, the problem is usually with the packages.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. So I guess the path of least resistance might be to simply keeping it at 1.5.1 (or maybe 1.6.1.4 if I can safely upgrade to that) and upgrade just the mongo packages and trying to get it to connect to Mongo Atlas? Does it just require a mongo package upgrade?

Hi @arkanis50, Welcome to the forums!

If you are migrating live data, you will need to update the database one major version step at a time.
Going from Meteor 1.5.1, you’re probably better off exporting all the data with mongodump and importing it into a new Mongo 4 database with mongorestore though.

There shouldn’t be many serious issues updating Meteor. I’d suggest looking through the migration guides for each version and see if that helps: https://github.com/meteor/meteor/blob/master/History.md

Build problems sounds like you need to update @babel/runtime, and maybe other babel related packages in your package.json