Using vue-meteor-tracker to update Meteor.user does not work

I am new to both Vuejs and Meteorjs so please excuse if these are newbie questions or the syntax is off.
I am trying to use vue-meteor-tracker to update the login\register button to logout but I am unable to do so. The Meteor.user always comes as undefined.
What am I missing?

base.js:

import { Meteor } from 'meteor/meteor';
export default {
  meteor: 
  {
    $lazy: true,
    $subscribe: 
    {
      'currentUser': function() {
        return Meteor.user();
      },
      'currentUserId': function() {
        return Meteor.userId();
      }
    },
  },
}

plugins.js

import VueMeteorTracker from 'vue-meteor-tracker';
Vue.use(VueMeteorTracker);

MainNavBar.vue

<li v-if="($parent.currentUserId==null)">
  <router-link v-bind:to="{ name: 'register' }">Register</router-link></li>
<li v-else>
  <router-link v-bind:to="{ name: 'register' }">Log out</router-link></li>
<script>
import base from '../base';
export default 
{  
  extends: base,  
  components:{
  },
  mounted() 
  {
    console.log(this.$parent.currentUserId);
  }
}
</script>

Login.Vue:

<script>
import '../api/methods.js';
import base from './base';
export default
{
extends: base,
methods: 
  { 
    LoginUserForDomain() 
    {
      Meteor.call('loginUserForDomain', this.user.email, this.user.password, this.user.domain, 
        (error, result) => 
        {
          if(result && result.userId && result.domain) 
          {                 
            Meteor.loginWithPassword(email, password);
            this.$router.push({ name: 'dashboard', params: { domain: result.domain }});                   
            return;
          }
        }
        );
    },
  },

In base.js you are $subscribing to currentUser and currentUserId instead of defining them as reactive data. Try this instead:

export default {
  meteor: 
  {
    $subscribe: 
    {