ViewModel hot code push errors

I’m transitioning to using manuel:viewmodel but updates to the HTML side of things resulting in a hot code push cause the following error on the client:

Uncaught RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded
    at ejson.js?hash=0f17ced…:530
    at Function._.each._.forEach (underscore.js?hash=cde485f…:157)
    at Object.EJSON.clone (ejson.js?hash=0f17ced…:530)
    at ejson.js?hash=0f17ced…:531

This error occurs even if I update a standard Blaze Template (non-viewmodel) that’s on the same page as a viewmodel template.

If I take viewmodel out of the page, Blaze hot code pushes go back to working like normal.

I’m new to viewmodel so it could be user error, but everything works fine if I manually refresh the page between edits.

Any ideas why this is happening or where I should start troubleshooting it?

That’s odd, please make a repro.

I’ve been experiencing a similar issue too. I haven’t been able to nail down exactly what causes it, but it seems to happen once a page reaches a certain complexity. It works fine, but when I make a change and Blaze issues the hot code push it crashes with the same RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded. Similar stack trace:

at Object.EJSON.clone (ejson.js?hash=0f17ced…:498)

Interestingly, in the same app, I have simpler pages that don’t exhibit the problem.

It may not be ViewModel related – something similar used to happen when using Autoform. I would sure like to figure out what the issue is, though. I’ll post up with more if I narrow it down further.

Could it be the number of properties in a VM? I’ve done performance tests with thousands of properties but I don’t remember testing if such a VM supports HCP. Can you test a VM with 1k properties?