Web and mobile applications

Hi -

I know this might not be a correct forum to ask this question (but since it does involve meteor) so i think it wont be considered totally unrelated.

I have downloaded one of the apps showcased on Cordova’s website to test out how it feels on an actual mobile device. I am using LG G3 (which is an android device). I would say its not the best user experience for one simple reason: Its quite laggy. Even the list scrolling is laggy.

I was initially thinking of making a mobile app in meteor but after looking at Cordova’s laggy apps, i have to go some other route. So here is what i have come up with: I should make the mobile app in React Native, Web app in React and hook them both up with Meteor. Now me being a total noob in the field at this moment in time, i had the following questions:

1. Is it possible to make React Native and React use an API layer which is powered by Meteor?
  2. Is it possible to make same components that are used in browser (React) and mobile (React Native) so that its easy to maintain them?
  3. Any major pitfalls that i should be aware of which might become road blocks after some major time investment :slight_smile:
  4. Any other better implementation that i should look for instead?

P.S: All i want primarily is to have a good user experience which doesn’t lag where i can use HTML, CSS, JS technologies.

Hey @hassanasad,

You can also use crosswalk webviews to get much better performance on Android.
Don’t use the stock browser.

I will let the community answer React-related questions as some of it is trailblazing (like using React Native with Meteor). There will be some (maybe a lot of) manual work to get that work.

Thanks Ramez.

I did check crosswalk - seems promising. I heard they are adding a package in 1.3 to allow crosswalk by meteor add crosswalk