Weird Problem with Post Submit Route

I am currently reading through Discover Meteor, while simultaneously building the Microscope app from the book (i.e. typing the code myself - not copying & pasting or downloading it using Git).

Today I updated Meteor to version 1.1.0.3, and I discovered in my version of the code for that my route for creating new posts, ‘/posts/new’ was broken. I’m not saying that the update broke my code - I just can’t find whatever did break my code, and I noticed that the route in question was working before the update but does not work now, after the update. Probably, the problem was caused by something I did, since I’m pretty new to Meteor, and there’s a lot I don’t know.

I searched through all my recent commits, as well as the template files and their helpers, and the router.js file, for any changes that might have caused this. But I couldn’t find anything.

Then I found that if I change definition of the route (in /lib/router.js) to ‘/burping/cow’ or ‘/nice/mercedes’ or even ‘/post/new’ (no ‘s’), then it worked - I saw the new post form again.

But, for whatever reason, now when the route is set to the URL “/posts/new” (with a plural “posts”), I am instead redirected to the notFound template.

I double-checked all the template names (in the name="" attribute) and the names passed to Iron Router - everything there is matching as it should be.

It’s a strange problem, and I am pulling my hair out trying to find the source of the issue. Can anyone tell what the problem might be? Thanks

I’ve been troubleshooting/messing around with this some more, trying to find the problem.

I noticed that I get the 404 template whenever “posts” is plural in the route: e.g. /posts/create

But, if I change it to post singular: e.g. /post/create, then it renders the post creation form, like it should, no matter what the verb is at the end of the route (new, create, whatever).