What are the benefits of hosting applications on NodeChef

Hi everyone,

I have been asked to take a look at NodeChef recently and have a play about with it. I have deployed my Meteor application to it and it works fine as it does when hosted with Galaxy.

Can anyone who uses NodeChef/has any knowledge of it please explain what the benefits of using it over conventional deployment are? I’m still a student and i’m struggling to see what the point of NodeChef is when I can deploy through Galaxy.

Many thanks,

George

Honestly? NodeChef is cheaper and does the same exact thing as Galaxy. Also, Galaxy’s APM is proprietary to MDG, I believe, whereas it looks like NodeChef uses the excellent and recently open-source Kadira for performance monitoring.

If you want to support MDG by having a Galaxy subscription, that’s awesome, but if you’re on the fence, read up on both. The choice should be pretty obvious.

As for why it’s better than a “conventional” deployment, it basically saves you all the overhead, hassle, and cost of setting up and maintaining your own server and DB environment, lets you focus on building your apps. I know because I manage my entire project deployment, including all my servers, DBs, and versioning locally.

I think as a student it could be an incredible learning experience for you to do that as well, but if you’re trying to build and host an app to the public to make money or whatever you should definitely just leave it to a hosting provider like Galaxy, NodeChef, DigitalOcean, or AWS, etc.

3 Likes

NodeChef includes Mongo, Galaxy/Heroku etc don’t. They are very competitively priced, include Kadira, and offer a lot. They aren’t well known which is why you don’t hear about them more.

1 Like

I use nodechef for a couple of apps. its been fantastic.

I don’t think they do, or i’ve missed where this is in the dashboard?