What computer should I purchase?

I’ve been developing an application for a few months now on my windows 10 PC. I’m new to coding and Meteor has been fantastic. During this period, compiling times, have been the most frustrating part. This might be the age of dell XPS laptop I’m using, its about 5 years old and it’s time to update.

I’ve had PC’s my whole life and I’m a big fan of windows 10 however as I’m getting more into coding, I have found compatibility problems with windows. It seems most coders use macs or Unix and as a result there’re more options out there for mac users. I have been playing around with a mac and I’m fairly comfortable with it.

This isn’t a question of what’s better mac or PC. It’s a question around where things are going with meteor and NPM etc.

Am I going to be disadvantaged getting a new PC instead of a new Mac as I delve more into learning to code?

I think the answer is basically yes, you are at a disadvantage with Windows.

In general most “trendy” web development tools work better on Mac/Linux, even though theoretically you can do everything on Windows. This is independent of Meteor. In fact we put a lot of effort to keep Meteor on Windows running at all, working around a lot of problems in the underlying tools from the wider ecosystem.

So I’d suggest getting a Mac, or Linux if you are OK spending some time installing it on your new computer and learning how to use it.

3 Likes

You’ll always be able to use Windows, but Unix based systems make life so much nicer. Terminal experience is just better. I moved to Mac a few years ago, never looked back. I like the fact I’m using the same terminal on both my desktop and the server. Plus you have tools like brew, lots of native features that windows misses. You also find a couple npm modules that are mac/unix/linux only, such as ‘n’.