What could be reasons why collections don't update?

Hi guys,

I’m totally new to debugging and testing but I guess it’s time to dive into the problem. My app won’t update any collections anymore. Whenever I do an insert or update it does the insert/update and shows the result on my app, collection.find().fetch() also shows the right results but as soon as I reload the page the inserts/updates are gone. I’ve never come across this problem before and it seems like it happened out of nowhere, I also get no errors in the console.log :confused:

How can I start debugging this? Velocity? I’m totally new to debugging or unit testing and I’ve read velocity is super unreliable so not sure if it’s beginner friendly.

Are you sure you have your collection(s) defined on both client and server? It sounds like you are using a client-only collection.

As long as it’s not inside of a

if (Meteor.isServer) {}

they should be published both server and client side, right? I’m subscribing with flowrouter like this on my route (for some reason I get access denied with template subscriptions which is why I’m not using it right now):

FlowRouter.route('/vendor_profile', {
  subscriptions: function(params) {     
    this.register('VendorProfileImages', Meteor.subscribe('VendorProfileImages'));
    this.register('VendorProducts', Meteor.subscribe('VendorProducts'));
  },  
  action: function() {
    BlazeLayout.render("applicationLayout", { main: "vendor_profile" });
  }
});

I’m cleaning up my code right now to see if there’s anything I’m missing.

Oh wait … you just gave me an idea … I have something like this in my isServer for a user signup. Is this only accessible on the server if I inserted it (on user signup) like this?

if (Meteor.isServer) {
    Accounts.onCreateUser(function(options, user) {

Meteor.users.update(
        {_id: this.userId },
        {$set: { "profile.vendor": true } }
      );

VendorProducts.insert({

'userid': user._id,
        'products': {