What does Apollo/GraphQL deployment look like with Galaxy?

I’ve got a SaaS I’m currently running on Galaxy, with mLab providing the database. Meteor + React, pretty standard setup.

I’d like to dive into learning GraphQL & Apollo soon, and I’m curious what that sort of deployment would look like on Galaxy. I understand that GraphQL is a separate server you have to run. Would that change the deployment stack to this?

• Meteor/React app (Galaxy)
  • MongoDB (mLab)
  • GraphQL Server (??? some service provider/host)

I’m a total newbie to GraphQL, so any/all info would be great. I plan to tackle https://learnapollo.com as my starting point. If there are other tutorials & docs I should look at, let me know!

1 Like

I would think you could just add express to your meteor app with a endpoint at /graphql right? Then deploy it to galaxy like any other meteor app?

You can basically use the setup you learn here but inside your meteor app:

https://www.udemy.com/graphql-with-react-course/learn/v4/overview

Use express-graphql package with express. Then wrap your react-router in apollo client. The course is probably worth taking. It saved me from having to scrape together 40 blog posts to try and learn it.

1 Like

Thanks! This is what I wasn’t sure about, whether GraphQL was a full-blown server that runs separately (a la Redis or MongoDB), or if it was just a separate process that runs alongside Meteor with its own endpoint/port.

I’ll check out that course. Stephen Grider’s stuff rocks.

There is apollo-server too. I don’t know much about it. I would think its basically express-graphql with some nice helpers and a few less steps to configure… but my guess is it is also an endpoint for ‘myurl.com/graphql’ which you will point your apollo-client at. So it’s no different than having a meteorapp with a Restivus/Picker/Express API endpoint. Then apollo-client is a lot like a redux store that points at that endpoint.