What is the advantage of using ES2015 modules?

I’m going to be showing my naivete with this one (I’m relatively new to web development and never had a formal CS background), but I can’t wrap my head around why everyone is so excited about ES2015 modules. I see that it is one of the main features of Meteor 1.3 and pretty much everything new these days has them.

But what is better about ES2015 modules? From a beginner’s perspective, I always hated dealing with RequireJS and never really came around to understanding it. One of the biggest draws to Meteor for me was that you didn’t have to think about any of that - you didn’t have to orchestrate what knows about what. You just wrote your code and it worked. Also, code is so much more readable and cleaner without a large part of the file being taken up by imports and wrapping all of your code for the file in another nest of brackets. I am sort of dreading having to use ES2015 modules for my project, and having to keep track of where everything is that I need in a file.

So what am I missing - what is the draw? Maybe I just don’t understand how Meteor’s magic works, but I love that magic and I will miss the simplicity it provided.

2 Likes

Having been in your situation, this is what I learned:

• Modules solve circular dependencies/make them much easier to use (at least, they will when native support is finally added…)
  • Modules allow you to be rid of global variables (vs Meteor)
  • Modules mean you know exactly where those variables are coming from
  • Modules enforces a strict syntax (must be used top-level) which makes static analysis easier/possible and enabling optimisations

See http://www.2ality.com/2014/09/es6-modules-final.html (Section 4) for more in-depth info.

Meteor certainly made all of this a hell of a lot easier/faster to get started, with less code but for large projects I think modules make it easier to manage, and provide a standard for, maintainability & re-usability.

8 Likes