What is your development setup?

I’m starting a new Meteor project and I’m trying to build a decent development environment, as I’m new to meteor and javascript at general(Coming from C++ and eclipse/gdb etc.).

Which IDE to you use? Heard good things about WebStorm and Sublime.
Which debugging framework do you use? I guess that there are different tools for client and server side.
Logging framework? How well the default meteor logging is configurable for distincting production and development
Unit-Testing framework? Looks like the default framework is decent, but I would love to hear other alternatives.

Thanks and best regards!

3 Likes

My 2 cents:

• I use WebStorm (best IDE features in general, works with big projects) :wink:
  • you don’t need a framework for debugging, just default nodejs stuff.

You should try Sublime Text. Its very simple and You can download some cool packages like Emmet.
It helps you code:
1 example of that if You type .main-content and click Tab button on keyboard it will appear like <div class="main-content"></div> Its very simple.
Sublime has good looking UI and its very simple. Works with big projects too.
I tryed Atom , Brackets, Dreamweaver, WebStorm… But for me Sublime is best :slight_smile:

Thank you for your feedback.
I still wonder about the debugger though.
I wouldn’t want to find bugs using prints to the console. I’m sure there’s a descent debugger to both server and client side. Would love to hear suggestions :slight_smile:

I’m used to work with Chrome Console to debug my applications.
That’s just me… But you should try to find some cool debuggers on Net :smiley:
Or wait for others to comment :slight_smile:

To start with something light, Visual Studio Code / Atom if you want a free IDE.