What skills should I have basic knowledge of to learn Meteor successfully?

I’ve hit a wall in developing my app, and I feel it’s because I’m lacking something.

I know HTML/CSS and basic JavaScript.

Should I look into jQuery, Node and Mongo? What do you guys recommend to help in my Meteor skill progression?

JUST DO IT. u will learn something when doing your work

3 Likes

I think it’s really important to have a sense for ‘async’ in general. Meteor does a good job abstracting it, but it really will help you a lot to know what’s going on. I think you should build a very simple app (like a todo app or something) in express. Express is extremely basic and simple, but it will force you to ‘think async’ by default.

1 Like

@tylerzika : In order to be successful with meteor, I believe one should be really good at javascript. A year ago, when I was in the same situation, I started improving my JavaScript skills. My meteor skills have improved a lot because of it.

1 Like

async javascript and than realize that we are modeling/working with data. That UI view part is just tip of the iceberg.

I have a friend in a similar situation, it’s his javascript knowledge that limits what he can do with meteor.

practice writing things not just in meteor, but in the node eco system.

You may need to improve you javascript skills with javascript books. The “you don’t know JS” serie is very good, start with “up & going” then “this & Object prototype” "types and grammar “scope and closure” in no particular order.
I would recommend to keep “async & performance” and “es6 and beyond” for later since it will not really help for core meteor programming.

I don’t think learning Jquery, Node or async could be useful at this point.

Basic - intermediate Mongo could sure help, but i think this can be learned by doing.

What do you need to know?