What valued features would make Meteor Cloud the default deployment destination for you?

Meteor Cloud was built to be the easiest way to deploy Meteor applications. And we think this is true.

Today you can write:

meteor deploy app-name

And you app is pushed to Galaxy. You can monitor your app with Meteor APM.

What do you think is missing from this model that would make it a high value deployment resource for you?

5 Likes

For me, the following would added value:

• Include MongoDB hosting - yes I know you can easily do that on MongoDB Atlas but as a business owner I prefer to have one invoice for my app and not several

For those apps that need scaling it would be great to have (optional) addons for:

• Zero-config Redis Oplog
  • A GraphQL container to easily include external data sources
6 Likes

I’ll add to this.

Multi-region deployments, similar to what MongoDB Atlas has.

I am doing this today manually by routing the traffic to different Meteor Cloud deployments with Cloudflare based on the user’s region.

5 Likes

Fully disable TLS 1.0 and 1.1 so we can pass federal Health IT certification. :wink:

7 Likes

I already use Meteor Cloud, but am offering some feedback:

I echo zero config Redis Oplog.

MongoDB hosting would be nice (I know there’s a free option, but a more official option would be nice). Currently we use Atlas but you must use a dedicated plan before you could use VPC peering, which isn’t ideal for smaller apps. Meteor Cloud with VPC peering setup by default would be great.

Part of the MongoDB request is also due to issues with Atlas and +srv strings. If we use a +srv string to connect to Atlas, there’s occasions that have a huge amount of lag from the extra DNS step. No idea why. But using an older connection string instead of the +srv string fixes it. I assume this is something that could be addressed if MongoDB is hosted directly by Meteor Cloud.