What will the new direction do for newbie programmers?

Hi,

I am a newbie programmer and I started using meteor about a year ago.
I am currently building an app for a friend that uses Iron Router and blaze.

Learning meteor with these two packages has enabled me to get started very easily and to build bigger and better apps.
The way you use the two has been easy to pick up and to use.

What concerns me is that I don’t think the new direction will be as easy for new developers as it was with Iron Router and blaze.

I send anyone who asks me how to start programming web sites to go to codecademy.com and do the javascript css and html courses and once they are done to come over to meter so that they can create things quicker with the toolset provided.

Has MDG considered that they might move away from being an easy platform to learn on and to then build out not only your skill but your app, while still learning your trade?

I have struggled to get my head around flow router and react, I have tried it and always I go back.

I am interested in what people think.

Lance

FlowRouter has a good documentation and as easy to use… I didn’t have any problems to change from iron router to flow router. For react you have to learn some new stuff, but I think there is no huge difference to learning angular or even blaze.

Dear Lance,

We started developing apps using Iron Router and blaze. But before couple of months - we have to switch to flow router and react. It takes some times to get used to these 2 new items, but it’s worth to spend this time. In Meteor 1.3 - we have to use these.

Regards,
Sanjay Kumar

Hi @sakulstra ,

Thanks for responding. I am a lone “dev” and so easy things to use are going to help me much more.

I understand that there is a migration path for people who use Blaze right now and can spend time learning the new way to do things.
I just remember how easy it was to get stuff going with just my HTML CSS and JS skills learnt on codecademy.