When I need to use MySQL in production

These days, is it still true statement: "If you need to use MySQL in production - don’t use Meteor" ?

Or there’s still some tweaks? I will also need to create REST APIs and same reactiveness as with mongo

SQL is on the Meteor Roadmap but presently there is no official support. Your best bet is to try the experimental third-party SQL packages on atmosphere
https://atmospherejs.com/?q=sql

but keep in mind you may have to rework your application when official support is introduced.

May I ask why you need SQL? I’m a former SQL DBA but now as a product manager I really prefer mongo for operational data. It’s much faster to get things in production when you don’t need to first define and implement a normalized relational data model. Mongo is more flexible and “lean” startup friendly.

If you have legacy data to access is it read-only? Can you port it to mongo? Or can you access it by putting an API in front?

Let us know a bit more about you use-case and maybe we can offer some alternative solutions.

1 Like

this just announced

1 Like

This is not a true statement at all!

One of my companies is using Meteor in production with MySQL, thanks to Ben Green’s excellent numtel:mysql package. It relies on the MySQL binary log (using row mode) as the event source - similar to how the oplog is used with MongoDB.

Contrary to what many people believe, normalized relational data models are often often very efficient, promote consistency and reduce the need for storage space. Many people confuse non-normalized database schemas (a result of laziness or ignorance of system analysis and design) with denormalized databases (a deliberate design decision to reduce the level or normalization to improve performance in specific circumstances).