Where do I start to build a real-time web application?

I want to build a real-time web application, something like facebook or quora for example. It would have users logged in and receiving updates whenever there are new posts related to them ( like home feed)
Where do start? I am new to Meteor and javascript. I want to use MySql and not MongoDB.
How do i design responsive UI (which templating library to use)?
What all should i keep in mind before diving into blinding developing the app?
And what are DDP and live query? Can I use mysql with these?

Wow, that’s a pretty broad question. There could be literally thousands of approaches you could take, using different pieces of hardware / software. If you want something like Facebook or Quora, why not start by analyzing their tech? Take a look at StackShare.

Since I just poured a fresh coffee though, and I’m severely procrastinating, I’ll give you direct (opinionated) answers to each one your questions. Your mileage may (and should) vary.

1. Where do I start? I am new to Meteor and Javascript.

2. I want to use MySQL and not MongoDB

• Are you really sure you don’t want to use MongoDB? If you have a specific reason not to, then you might not want to use Meteor. There are options, but since you’re new to Meteor and JS I wouldn’t recommend them. If you really want to dive in though, and a really stuck on using MySQL, take a look at:

• Meteor Any-Db (just note that you will be severely limiting the capabilities of Meteor by using an unsupported DB)

3. How do I design a responsive UI (which tempting library to use)?

• The videos on Frontend Masters will help you grasp the basics.
  • Within Meteor, use a CSS framework. If you’re just getting started go with Bootstrap. There are a million other options available, but Bootstrap is still the most widely used and referenced.