Which tools do you use for managing specs/new features/your development team?

We’re growing a development team right now, before it was just me (I’m a designer), now we have two developers and it’s time to come up with a decent structure for tracking new product features / specs. Right now the tools we are using for team communication are:

• Slack
  • Trello for basic todo / kanban board
  • Bitbucket

I am wondering what else we can use now to manage our development team. Specifically good ways to manage scenarios like: “Feature x needs to be developed. These are the user stories. This is the spec. These are the mockups, etc.”

Please note, we’re a startup. Tools that start with a free plan are preferred. I prefer using SaaS tools vs. stuff that needs to be installed on a server first.

Redmine is open source. Assembla is a serious commercial competitor.

Just my two cents after using Bitbucket and Github – it’s worth the $7/month for Github in my opinion. The bitbucket interface is clunky, and the fact that I have to hand-modify the url to get to the full source of a commit is annoying, to say the least.

Also, the ‘soft sell’ on slack can be tricky. I love just about everything about slack, but they leave you pot committed after you get to a point where your old messages/history are no longer available, so I’d recommend either budgeting ahead for that or thinking about a truly free alternative. Worth it in my book, though to plan to pay.

My $0.02:

• Slack is great but the “let’s talk and share everything” overhead can really destroy team productivity. Don’t get me wrong it’s an awesome tool for staying up to date, brainstorming approaches/ideas, and generally building up nice “warm and fuzzy” team feelings, but it can also be seriously distracting. Be prepared to use the “do not disturb” feature …