Why are routing and useraccount packages so hard?

Used Meteor a bunch in the past when Iron Router was the goto and before FlowRouter started to come up.

I followed the new docs on a clean Blaze project and all the dependencies to use a simple Bootstrap 5, SCSS, accounts-password template and there is nothing but errors when trying to install FlowRouter and the UserAccounts packages for unstyled and flow routing.

UserAccounts Core seem to even have failing builds on the GitHub and nothing seems to be updated in the last few years so curious is it even worth starting a new project with Meteor still?

Hi @nonstopdev to answer your opinion, of course it is worth it. I wouldn’t say I’d do Blaze for large or important projects but I’d definitely go that way for something small web and mobile. I am a React builder and can’t have more satisfaction with the Meteor ecosystem.

Now, to answer your technical aspect, can you share some of the errors you get pls. SCSS can be a bit** and there are ways to deal with that but I see your problem is with Meteor packages.
What do you mean by “UserAccounts Core”. meteor packages are names like “accounts-base”, “accounts-ui-unstyled” etc. There are Meteor packages that are not dependent on other libraries and they don’t need to be touched for years. Similarly, in the NPM ecosystem most of the packages get updates for their dependencies and not to their own code.

Two questions please:

3 Likes

Hi there.

Yes, this was a fresh project from the meteor create --blaze which provided 2.7.3

I digged more and more and it seems like going step by step through the docs, the useraccounts:flow-routing package seems to be breaking everything.

If you are adding it with useraccounts:unstyled you get this error:
error: Potentially incompatible change required to top-level dependency: useraccounts:unstyled 1.13.1, was 1.14.2.

If you remove unstyled, and try to add it on its own, you get this error:

=> Errors while adding packages: