X-editable and meteor: inline editing full working example?

Hello all,
I am new to meteor and I need some help with the x-editable port to meteor.
I added the following packages:

In my HTML I use

<template name="categoryValue">
<tr>
    <td>
        {{> xEditable type="text" success=onSuccess placement="right" }}
    </td>
    <td>
        {{name}}
    </td>
</tr>
How can I attach the editing functionality to my ```{{name}}``` field? I have not been able to find a full working (simple) example in meteor. Am I using the right packages? Thanks a lot in advance for your help, I am open to any advice! Cheers, zxxz

Hi,

the package I use is babrahams:editable-text, its’s really easy to implement:

{{> editableText collection="users" field="profile.address" placeholder="Address" inputClass="form-control" afterUpdate="updateOwnerLoc"}}

Hope it helps!

1 Like

@dancering thank you very much! I tried immediately and indeed it’s easy to use…although it’s limited to text/text area fields :smile:
Unfortunately I need support also for select fields (dropdown) and inline editing form (ok/cancel). Pretty much what http://vitalets.github.io/x-editable/ supports.
Do you have any experience with the x-editable port to meteor?

Probably you have to check this one:

Meteor editable package

I think could be useful as you ask for.

I followed your advice but that package seems a bit bugged: I am also experiencing the issues reported on github but nobody provided fixes…I am not sure whether this package is still maintained.

I will continue testing the 8 packages found in atmosphere searching for x-editable…I hope I will have some luck! It’s a bit disappointing knowing that x-editable itself works like a charm…

It’s a bit dated and I haven’t seen what the packages are doing these days but I think this might help you:

See Andrew’s answer and my answer.

@gadicc Thank you for your link, I will check it out right away :wink: