Best practices for structuring a really huge web app?

I’m about to dive into my first official Meteor project, and it’s a big one (along the lines of an e-commerce platform). Are there any best practices I should follow to keep things as neat, maintainable, and easily navigable as possible?

2 Likes

Well I’m not in position to share best prctices, as I’m also new to Meteor. But what interests me is that you are working on product which is on lines of an e-commerce platform. How exactly are you handling the transactions part and the ACID properties?
Because right now, I have an e-commerce related project but I’m in dilemma stage to whether go with NoSQL base solution or not.

Can’t advice much on ecommerce for huge web app. Have you calculate the cost to operate and your budgets for the infrastructure and security? Have you start experimenting Meteor yet before getting into best practices.

When structuring UI code, it’s very hard to suggest a best way. Because there is no such.
There is a lot of discussion about components architecture, but there is no single best way.

I suggest you to browse couple of open source projects like Telescope, LibreBoard.

If you need to learn about best practices on DB modeling and performance, checkout BulletProof Meteor.

1 Like

I don’t have an answer (sorry), but I’m curious, what’s your definition of big?

I ask because I see the term being tossed around a lot these days and people almost invariably use it for sites with a lot of traffic/users/io/etc. I want to ask them “So if your hello world app gets millions of users per day, is it a big app then?”

Please ignore the next “paragraphs”. This thing doesn’t let me post because I posted it by mistake on another thread.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut cursus
aliquam quam, eu gravida lorem fringilla in. Pellentesque molestie odio
tellus, ut viverra orci pretium quis. Vestibulum vulputate, ante ut