Best strategy for multi tenant webapp

I am developing a multi tenant app. I want each tenant to have a subdomain

tenant1.mydomain.com
tenant2.mydomain.com
etc.

Currently, the app is hosted on a digitalocean ubuntu server with nginx as a proxy using a wildcard *.mydomain.com

I was thinking about using only one instance of the app and one collection for all tenants/subdomains, determining the content to serve based on the subdomain name.

As I am quite new to Meteor and to web development in general, I would appreciate your insight about this architecture. Here are some concerns that I have:

• Use one instance for all tenants/subdomains or one instance per tenant (app doesn’t do much server side, so don’t need much ressources)
  • Use only one database and collection for all tenants or one collection per tenant (database content will be quite small for each tenant)
  • How does the chosen architecture scale? What if I have 100 subdomains? 10000?
  • Any problem you can see with the subdomain approach?
1 Like

Hi There, I’m also looking into information on this topic, In general I would say that we both have a similar scenario, although I still haven’t decided on using a subdomain approach just yet. some of the ideas I have are:

• Have a Tenants collections that’ll hold the registered tenants.
  • I’m interested on having users that can work with different tenants, yet have different roles on each tenant, for that I think alanning:roles Groups suits my needs. Each tenant would be mapped as a roles group.
  • Tenant scoped collections would be indexed by tenant and publications would use the tenant as part of the query.
  • On the client side, would get the active tenant based on a client variable, session variable(?) or in your case, from parsing the subdomain name in the url?

All pretty straight forward as you may see, but so far, I think that should be about it.