Core Dumped when attempting update from 1.8.2 to 1.9 (or above)

Thank you in advance for any assistance or direction you may be able to provide as I’m fairly new to meteor and have inherited a few applications.

I am currently in the process of updating a meteor application to the latest version but hit a snag at v1.9. Specifically, when I run “meteor update --release 1.9” (or any subsequent version) I am met with a fairly unhelpful error:

ematthews@ematthews-vm-mint:~/projects/website/junction$ meteor update --release 1.9
/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node[47368]: ../src/node_contextify.cc:649:static void node::contextify::ContextifyScript::New(const v8::FunctionCallbackInfo<v8::Value>&): Assertion `args[1]->IsString()' failed.
 1: 0x9da7c0 node::Abort() [/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node]
 2: 0x9da847  [/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node]
 3: 0x9ce1bf node::contextify::ContextifyScript::New(v8::FunctionCallbackInfo<v8::Value> const&) [/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node]
 4: 0xba701b  [/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node]
 5: 0xba7ba2 v8::internal::Builtin_HandleApiCall(int, unsigned long*, v8::internal::Isolate*) [/home/ematthews/.meteor/packages/meteor-tool/.1.9.0.c4cpd0.8as8++os.linux.x86_64+web.browser+web.browser.legacy+web.cordova/mt-os.linux.x86_64/dev_bundle/bin/node]