CPU usage is going up

Hello,

I am getting the following notification for a meteor app:
Your Linode, GQMS_Staging, has exceeded the notification threshold (90) for CPU Usage by averaging 128.2% for the last 2 hours

Any ideas on how to fix?

Please help.

One thing to check is that your Oplog is working. If itā€™s not, Meteor will start spamming your database constantly. Happened to me :stuck_out_tongue: Easy to spot if you have Kadira - the number of fetched documents will go up into the millions.

Thanks a lot for your answer, I am new to meteor.

Is Kadira still available? Every web article about meteor mentions Kadira but one article says the service is not available anymore.

Any other way to check Oplog is working?

Check which version of Node you might have installed on the server. If itā€™s above 4.x then it can cause massive CPU usage.

1 Like

Are you sure?
I am using node 5.8.0

Thatā€™s true. You need to use the version of node which your version of Meteor is using. You can check that by doing meteor node -v in your dev console.

The only exception to that is that node 4.8.1 exhibits memory leak problems and should be replaced with 4.8.2 (the current version of node for Meteor 1.4.4.2).

My Sys Admin tried updating to 6.10.3. yesterday and it caused the CPU usage to hit 100%. When we downgraded to 4.8.3 everything returned to normal.

It might be that 5.x works (in that Meteor runs) but 6.x definitely causes issues at the moment and I think you need to run 4.8.2 or 4.8.3.

INTERESTING! Iā€™ve been trying to figure that out myself!

I have CPU spikes to 100%, then itā€™s fine! I will try this!!!

Please let us know what works for you.

As you can see I have two massive spikes on my MongoDB server.

The same spikes on my NodeJS server. Together.

It may look small, but they lasted 15 minutes each. I couldnt identify why, then it just went away.

I even added 8 cores to the CPU and it STILL maxed out at 100%. Cost me an armā€¦