Deployment Architecture

Hi, I have recently deployed a new meteor app to Digital Ocean using MUP. I was wondering what others are doing about backing up their databases. I’m relatively new to sysadmin work and am not sure what the best way to backup my data would be, given the tight integration between MongoDB and Meteor. I’m not yet hosting my DB on a separate server, as it’s an application that will be seeing relatively low volume usage initially. Thanks.

A cron job that does a mongodump each day would be a good start. But then you’d also want to automate moving the dumped data to another box for redundancy. There must be some good shell scripts out there for this sort of thing. Dev ops gurus … ?

Also, take a look at this topic. Using hosted db services makes backups trivially easy.

This one also has some thoughts on db hosting.

You should definitely consider subsribing to https://mms.mongodb.com/ for both management and backups of your database. It is free up to your first 8 servers and backups are also free up to your first 1GB.

If you want to do that manually, something along the lines of:

Create a directory to keep your backups, and a backup script:

$ sudo mkdir /mongobackups
$ sudo nano /mongobackups/backup-script.sh

Paste this in and save (Ctl+X)

mongodump --db meteor --out /mongobackups/`date +%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S`

Change your db name if you have named it something other than meteor

Make it an executable

$ sudo chmod +x /mongobackups/backup-script.sh

You can further secure it by changing its permissions.

Open up your crontab editor for root (you can do that for a specific backup user if you like)

$ sudo crontab -e

Then in the editor, add this

0  5    * * *   /mongobackups/backup-script.sh

Change the time if you like.

Now, this will run at 5am every day (on your server’s local timezone - cat /etc/timezone) to create a timestamped directory and dump your meteor database into it.

But again, I do suggest you consider MMS.