Entrepreneurs? Why not more interest

Queston here. Why don’t more entrepreneurs use a stack like meteor? I posted a long time ago about a product I wanted to launch and I was able to do it pretty easily using meteor. I had to outsource it, but it was a pretty quick turn around like 1 week. I’m working on the same product (documenation app if you wanted to know) for another customer who wants it custom but wants it done in express in their own hosting. Everyone I talked to talked about it would take about 3x as long then what I paid for a working meteor app. My question for developers is why would you not use a tool that can you can build fast and see if gains traction? Or is there something about express I’m missing? I have very little code knowledge, but I did take express and a meteor course and even things like authentication have to be built using tools like passport when meteor does it right out the box.

2 Likes

Let’s start with explanation. Express isn’t full stack framework as meteor, its standard server framework for node but you need more in your stack. So probably people you talked to suggested solutions like express + react + graphQl or so. Only reason is hype, hypeDrivenDevelopment is nowadays most common methodology. Im completly serious. For small apps as you described meteor is perfect tool.

I recommend this article : https://blog.daftcode.pl/hype-driven-development-3469fc2e9b22

5 Likes

I think you’re preaching to the converted here :slight_smile:

6 Likes

I’m going to answer this more detailed later on… It turns out that I started writing a whole article about why and why not. I will get back to you later today (Dutch time :stuck_out_tongue:)

2 Likes

Simple answer - many companies decide for techs by given requirements. If the requirements demand certain features that a certain technology solves best it is used. Okay the actual process is more complicated but I think you will understand the essence.