How debug my meteor app?

Hello,

I am pretty new to Meteor and I am wondering how I can debug my app. I would like to be able ideally to run my app and see it live in a debugger where I can put break points, see the value of my variables and so on.

I am using IntelliJ as my Meteor IDE. I did try the IntelliJ debugger. I am able to run my app and set breaks. The IDE is connected to Google Chrome while I am debugging. But each time the debugger reach my break point of interest, Chrome crashes. I would like to try with Firefox instead but I was unable to change the configuration of the IDE to make it so. So this is not very useful.I was unable to make this solution work properly so I am looking for an alternative.

I did try to install node-inspector. But I was unable to proceed due to a few installation errors. Missing dependencies I guess. I was unable to resolve the issue by installing the missing dependencies manually. I had other errors instead.

Last thing I did was trying the meteor debug command. But I don’t see my sources files in the web interface. I almost have an empty blank screen. It seems that something is going wrong there too. I am unable to interact with the gui to do something productive.

So nothing is working well for me today on this issue. :frowning: I am felling sad.

Do you have effective suggestion to propose? How are debugging your meteor app and is your solution satisfying?

Thank you for sharing.

I am actually debugging both server and client code on Webstorm (with Google Chrome) and have not hit problems except for memory usage increasing for rather extended debugging sessions.

I changed my code and no longer have the bug crashing my IDE.

But breakpoints inside functions that are inside another function do not work. Do you have the same problem?

I discover that the command meteor debug works with Google Chrome but not with Firefox. :smile: The interface is working well in Chrome.