How many instances?

I’m preparing to roll out my first potentially large production Meteor app, and one issue I’m not immediately clear on is when it makes sense to add another instance of my app.

I’m running on a GCE standard-1 instance, which I think has 2 cores. From what little I’ve read, it makes sense to deploy 2 Meteor instances on this right out of the gate so one runs on each core. Is that correct, and if so, is there anything special I have to do to ensure that each instance runs on a separate core? Or does the OS handle this for me? I have lots of Linux experience but have never deployed anything beyond side-project scale before.

Further, while I’m not immediately anticipating this, I’d like to get a sense for how to scale up instances when my app does need more. If this standard-1 instance does indeed have 2 cores as I suspect, would it make sense to add a third instance, or would that take away from current instances? Should I instead add a second compute instance and another 2 Meteor instances on that?

Thanks.

1 Like

Although you should profile your app and see what its actualy cpu/ram requirements are, generally speaking cpu’s are faster enough in processing than reaching ram limits. Therefore, with a 2-core instance, you can fire up 3 or 4 meteor instances if you have enough ram.

Cool, I’m already profiling. So what should be the determining factor as to whether or not spinning up a new instance will help? Can I just pack them until I run low on RAM and then add another server for more instances? IOW, what types of performance issues can be solved by adding another instance on the same server, and when should I spin up a separate server for more instances?

Thanks.

a second server is good for high availability

but for scaling only, you can fire up instances untill cpu or ram gets fully utilized, ehichever comes first

generally speaking, meteor app instances seem to average around 400-600mb ram utilization per instance