I dont get it; or the DAG of Meteor

A friend and coworker is absolutely besotted in Meteor and now we’re looking at using it for the next big project. I however don’t get it. It seems “fine” for minor projects; prototypes and throwaway apps; but not something you’d want to use for serious programming.

It seems like I’m missing something, and that makes me unhappy; and when I’m unhappy I notice every little annoying thing to the point where it seems like Meteor saw best practices and standard patterns and then deliberately set out to break them.

I don’t actually believe that of course, but since I don’t know what I don’t know it’s hard to ask for what it is.

It’s like the directed acyclic graph in git. When first I started learning about git, every tutorial mentioned that git uses a DAG, but that always seemed like an irrelevant implementation detail. Then one day I found some article that resonated, and suddenly everything made sense. You can plod along in git without thinking about the DAG, but everything gets much easier if you understand why it is important that git is a DAG.

I’m looking for the “DAG” of Meteor; the thing that makes everything else make sense. Does anyone know what it is?

3 Likes

You know that old saying

There are only two hard things in Computer Science: cache invalidation and naming things.

Meteor provides minimonogo and isomorphic APIs to address those things. Everything else follows those two things… ease of learning, rapid prototyping, reactive UIs, etc.

That’s my take anyway. $0.02

13 Likes

This is by far the most powerful pitch I’ve heard for Meteor!

As an end user and project manager, the DAG is:

Spend more time making the thing than making the thing that will let me make the thing.