Looking for courses or tutorials that build a full application

Hi,

I’m new to meteor since one month. I like it a lot and the framework is intuitive to me. I’ve worked through the discover Meteor book and I’m subscribed to Eventedmind but I’m having a hard time grasping the advanced stuff of meteor. Eventedmind gives me an in depth look in meteor topics but in a simple way.

I want full apps and I’m looking for tutorials or courses that take on building advanced applications. For instance a Pinterest clone. I’ve watched some youtube tutorials and they helped a lot. But to a certain point.

I hope some has some good suggestions.

Thank you

1 Like

Check out on youtube for George Mcknight https://www.youtube.com/user/geomck1967/videos and also you can buy a Project Management tutorial app from him here:https://gumroad.com/geomck1967

3 Likes

What does “advanced application” mean to you? Which features of Meteor do you feel are “advanced”?

(Because I find that once you start building ANYTHING with Meteor you’ll find that there’s not really something very advanced in Meteor, it’s all very simple and straightforward and the only things that feel a bit more advanced are the still-rough edges around some of Meteor’s features!)

2 Likes

Hey, thanks for helping me out. Maybe advanced wasn’t the right word. I have watched some of George Mcknight’s tutorials and they are great. But the thing is with all the meteor tutorials out there they all cover the same aspects. Routing, authentication, adding collections and so on. So once you know that, most tutorials don’t add anything.

I was looking for a tutorial that would build the localmarket app from scratch and walk you through it. The localmarket app seems more ‘advanced’ than the apps built in George Mcknights tutorials or the Todo app that everyone covers.

I hope I’m making sense here.

I agree that Meteor is pretty strait forward. Maybe I don’t know where to look yet to find what I need.